A Self-Reliant Man

a-good-self-reliant-man-vintage-art-posterI married a good man, who was taught to need no one. That kind of mindset is highly applauded these days…

Take care of yourself

Do your own thing

Depend on no one

Plant your own flowers

Frost yourself

 

Which are all great sentiments, to an extent. Except for the wife who was loved too much as a child and wants to be lavishly loved on as an adult.

 

The world is shifting – I know more people with divorced parents than committed.

 

It’s really no wonder people think independence and self reliance is the key.

 

Yet, I was raised to rely on each other. I was raised based on the most dependent love, Christ love. The most pure, uncomplicated, yet wholly dependent love.

 

As a believer and as a wife that is hard. It’s hard loving a man so unvulnerable, a man with so many walls.

 

It must be done, with Christ love, over and over and with a gentle word…

 

And there in lies my problem. Thank goodness I can be wholly dependent on my God for grace and mercy and love as I try my best, to rededicate my life to Him and to him.

 

And to see the day the walls come down.

  • J
Leave a Reply

