A Little More Reverence for the Temple

I take a lot of care in a lot of areas of my life. I have high standards and push to meet them.  This is an impossible standard to keep up on everything.  And, so, I always let the same thing slide to the back burner – my physical health.

Everything else seems so much more important, but what I too often forget is that this is an essential component to me being able to do ANYTHING else. My service and honor of God cannot happen without my body.  The healthier I am, the more I can serve God.

I’ve been reading Exodus and Leviticus.  I’m so struck with how much care they had to take with their tabernacle, their temple.  And do I take that much care with my temple?

Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself.- 1 Corinthians 6:19

22675fde848e04d411bb7edfa3615f77What does this mean – I don’t know.  I don’t know where I carve the time for this.  However, it does mean I can make wiser choices with the time I do have.  Wiser choices with fueling my body.

I need to look at my body differently.  I need to look at my health differently.  I need to respect the temple that God has given me and treat it with the reverence it deserves.

-S

 

 

Leave a Reply

