He Speaks

“And the dialect of God is the day just as it comes” Ann Voskamp

I pray a lot more now than I used to. I’m a mom and a wife, on my knees is a way of life: scooping up toys, lifting up babies, cleaning up spills… begging for new mercies and more grace. Desperately seeking wisdom in this journey.

 

he-speaksGod has the ability but, in my experience, rarely speaks loudly. His message is powerful and perfect and He can bend the winds of my life; I suppose that’s why He doesn’t shout.

 

He is communicating constantly; it’s just in our amplified neon world it is easy to miss the wind.

 

My God talks in subtleties; in rainy days and perfectly timed peonies, in traffic jams and puppy kisses, his guiding hand, a forceful slow down child.

 

He wakes me before dawn to ponder life with Him and see the world in the clear dark of dew.

 

Faith, communication, is more than a feeling or a justification of wants and I can’t rightly explain it.

 

But He speaks all day and I can only hear when I quiet down, and it’s worth the slow down.

-J

Leave a Reply

