Enough of the Melodrama

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters…He restores my soul. Psalm 23:1-3

When I was little this was my favorite verse. I recited it at my baptism.

Over the years, it has remained in my heart, a fondness like a happy memory, with no significant connection to my current life.

Until today, when it slaps me hard.

The Lord IS my shepherd. He is my guardian, my strong hold, refuge; He is in control.

I shall not want. He is my provider. He will satisfy me completely. I can let the discontent go.

He MAKES me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. My well being is of extreme importance to him. He sees my weary body and tired soul. He sees the exhaustion more than skin deep. He bends the wind and changes the circumstances. He MAKES me lie down and lean on him.

He whispers his protection and grace and laces it with peonies and Bug kisses and Nici hugs.

He says, I will restore your soul IF you let me.

And I am tired and discontent and feel more like it’s the dark valley than the green meadow. I’ve entered situations I didn’t realize until mid battle, and He is still there.

relax with the melodrameMore so really. He is not only a shepherd, but the God of Angel armies. And He is always on my side. I can relax with the melodrama and melt into Him.

“I need to remember that Gods answer is not to lift me out of the “crisis of the moment” but to speak His word into it, and over it. I was made to find joy in relating to him across the whole span of my day”

  • J
Leave a Reply

