A Prickly Bush

I have a hard time relating to Moses; I am awe struck at his faith, wavering and flawed as it may be. God used him in large, scary, and obvious ways. That is not my life. I am raising children in a series of apple slices, Disney jr, bug spray, and pool fun.

Yes, I’m called to obedience and love and patience, over and over and over again. But Moses feats- I don’t think are in the cards for me.

However, this morning I’m feeling like a different character in the story. The bush. No, not the “great I am” who was (and is) the fire. I’m an actual prickly desert bush, thirsty and begging to be engulfed in flames.

Moses “saw that the bush was on fire and did not burn up.” Exodus 3:2

fbusgIn so many real ways as a daughter of Christ, in this modern world, I can be consumed. The devil loves nothing more than to let anger ignite irrationally in me, flames burning high and thrown around. I become the thirsty bush consumed by fiery rage.

However, I get the choice, I do not have to be burnt up. I can be engulfed, but not consumed. There is a higher power alive in me, one Satan and flames can’t touch. So even though I feel ugly emotions that accompany breathing death, it is the life in me that can win.

It is a choice though. I have to choose (repeatedly) to humble myself. To take off my shoes in His presence, acknowledge I have no power or authority; I am a flawed servant, barefoot at his presence. I must set down the flamethrower set aside anything that fuels earthly logic of rage and pick up love.

Christ want comes through the proud warrior. It’s the humble and meek and unworthy he uses. And although I am unworthy, humble and meek are not my strong suits.

Yet, I am no Moses. I am a bush and I get to decide if I’m engulfed or consumed, a minor yet significant difference. Fires of death, or fires of life.

Anger, pride, bitterness verses joy, humility, peace

The flames do not burn up the bush, but the fire is real, the pains are real. The perplexity continues, as God is within the flame, “God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses,” and he said, “Here I am.” Exodus 3:4

In the trial and tribulation, God’s presence is real. In the annoyances and frustrations and spilled milk and exhaustions, God is there. Some like to think a godly life is church bbq’s, family devotions, and mornings to praise and worship, sealed with nightly prayers and sweet dreams.

When in actuality a godly life promises hellfire and tribulation, “we are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed but are not driven to despair. We are hunted down but not abandoned by God. We get knocked down but we are not destroyed….we live in the face of death because of the life in us” 2 Corinthians 4:8,9 11

And sometimes I’m called over emotional…

A godly life is hard, but it comes with sprinkles, a hope, and a future.

bushAfter all, the bush is only engulfed, not consumed, it becomes the fire.

So I am no Moses, but I feel the flame nonetheless.
My ordinary life is being used and my emotions run high and hot.

And I am reminded it is all an opportunity to humble myself. A lowly prickly bush.

“and as Gods grace reaches more and more people there will be great thanksgiving and God will receive more and more glory” 2 Corinthians 4:15

– J

Leave a Reply

