I’m Just a Know Nothing

Honestly, faith is easy for me.  Always has been and I hope it always will.  God’s existence and desire for a relationship with me is a given in my walk with Him.  

However, acting in faith can be so hard.  I’m a control freak who struggles with anxiety…talk about wanting a game plan with every potential side step accounted for.

So, the beginning of the story of Abram (not yet having his name changed to Abraham) and God’s relationship as told in Genesis is so powerful and important to me.

“Go from your home…everything and everyone you know…to the land that I will show you.” Genesis 11:1

One word makes this so meaningful for me…WILL.

God WILL show Abram where he needs to go…which means God hasn’t showed him yet.

God asks Abram to leave EVERYTHING and EVERYONE.  And for what?  Literally, all Abram has to go on is his faith in God’s love and promise because God hasn’t even shown him where he is going.  However, Abram has faith that God will take him somewhere and that God has his best interest at heart.  

He doesn’t question it.  He simply went “as the Lord had told him” (Genesis 11:4)

…without details,

…without knowing exactly how everything was going to line up,

…without everything and anything that makes sense in earthly logic.

 

And you know what?

Abram was blessed beyond belief because he had faith

God blesses our faithlessness.  His plan is so much better than ours.  

 

1795770_578624425586487_385537113_nWhen I let go of the control that I’m only pretending to have, I get to witness the miraculous ways that God can and wants to act on my behalf.  
It can be so hard sometiems to truly pray for His will when there are things I want, but it is so worth it.  I just have to remember that I don’t know everything.  In fact, compared to Him, I’m a know nothing who controls nothing…and I like it that way.

  • S
Leave a Reply

