Not Just More Clanging Noise

A lot of blogs have been written on 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 love is…

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

But what about the beginning…

“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

If I do back flips and make perfect pancakes and include the healthy foods and make sure they’re dressed and clean and get the right gifts and send the right cards at the right time and find funny memes and, and, and…

And do not have love it is worthless.

This entire life means nothing if love is not given. To others and self.

My words are a clanging symbol unless I speak in love.

And I can attest, many a times I have not spoken in love to my Chris. I have spoken (err, yelled, irritation, exhaustion, frustration) and it wasn’t in love. It was in selfishness. In me needing more. Looking for more in all the wrong places. Expecting others words, and cards, and well timed memes, and hugs to fill me up.

Love does the filling. And there is only one perfect love.
voice_of_the_monkey
Christ’s love.

But in the meantime. I can be more conscious. I can speak love more. Act love louder.

To others. To my Chris. To my kids. The last thing I want them to think of me as is simply “noise,” let alone “angry or exhausted noise.”

Lord, help me be a lovely noise.

  • J
Leave a Reply

