Never Back, Always Forward

Image-1
from the First5 devotional (highly recommend)

God is always looking to move us forward in our relationship with Him, in our work for Him, in His work in us…

…never back

…never stagnant

…always onward.

 

This means that He lays out the perfect journey of valleys and mountains for each of us to continue our journey towards a deeper relationship with Him.

He makes sure that the mountains come when we need them – allowing us to feel His presence so deeply and almost tangibly.  Rejuvenating our spirit and devotion for the valleys that lay ahead.

But the valleys are just as perfectly placed – there to help us grow in our faith, push our strength beyond what we knew we had, and build the muscles that we will need to reach the peak of each mountain.

Honestly, the valleys and the mountains speak to and fuel my spirit pretty equally.  It is the in-between that can be the hardest for me – that time when everything is really just fine – you know, the mundane of the everyday.

It is in these times that I can take all that He does and has done for me for granted.  It is at these times, when I get too caught up in myself and my life…focusing on the “my” of it all instead of reveling in the wonderment of the world He has created around me, the blessings that overflow my life in so many ways on a daily basis that I take them for granted, and can lose focus on the very important work He has called me to of helping to care for His shape.

Really, I’m just a sheep trying to keep my eyes on my Shepherd to guide me through this crazy place until I can reach home with Him.

-S

Leave a Reply

