My Soul Waits

My soul is quiet and waits for God alone. He is the One Who saves me. – Psalms 62:1 

My soul is quiet and waits for God alone. My hope comes from Him. – Psalm 62:5 

I have been in fixer mode, in saver mode – it’s just my nature.  However, I have been trying desperately to focus on the truth that this is an impossible task.  I am not the fixer or the saver.  That doesn’t mean I don’t help,  assist, and support, but I am not responsible for fixing and I am not capable of it.

So, my soul is quiet and waits for God alone.  This doesn’t mean I am alone, but that God alone is the one who can save us.  God alone is the one with whom all of our hope dwells.  

I love the poetry of this Psalm in the repetition.  These two sentences are just a few verses apart, but I like them together.  My soul is quiet and waits for God alone.  My hope comes from Him because he is ONLY One who saves me…repeatedly, daily, when I don’t deserve it (and He is the only one who will save those I love).
Sometimes I forget my inadequacies somehow and try to do more than I am able.  So, this was a good and timely reminder of where hope and salavation truly lies.

  • S
Leave a Reply

