So You Had a Bad Day

Life is hard a lot, but that doesn’t mean it is bad.  Sometimes we subscribe to the false illusion that life should be easy, and, if it’s not, then it is bad and/or unfair.

Life isn’t going to be easy or fair.  If God promises anything besides our salvation through Jesus Christ, it is that we will face (at least) hardship and frustration  in this life – but that’s part of what makes His grace and salvation so much sweeter.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. – James 1:2-3

This easy to say, but hard to remember in the moment.

IMG_4044Monday, I blew a tire – like you hear a noise and check to see if a piece of your car fell off on the road because it was so loud blew a tire.  I didn’t have a spare and it was pouring rain. I sat in Lowe’s parking lot for about 2 hours waiting for a tow truck.

During that wait, I did what any mature, self-respecting 29 year old professional would…I talked to my mom on the phone while crying uncontrollably.

I am self-admittedly pulled really tight right now when it comes to emotion, stress, and tension.  This one unexpected thing happening while my main support team is about 150 miles away was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

the-straw-that-broke-the-camels-back
found at https://clairehendyuk.wordpress.com/

So, 1 totally shot tire, 1 tow, 30 hours, 1 blue rental car, 2 new tires, several hundred dollars later, and the Holy Spirit calling me to task…

I can recognize that this wasn’t bad – it was just life.  God blessed me in several ways throughout the process.  It happened in an area I knew well and was safe.  Every single person I interacted with in the process was so friendly and pleasant.  All the professionals I dealt with talked to me with respect (too often I find I am talked to condescendingly  as if I can’t handle technical terms because I am a woman).  I had been building up savings ~ so I didn’t have to worry about paying it.

It was a temporary 1st world problem. God’s blessings abound in the midst of this.  Every challenge offers an opportunity to grow and trust God.  I just find this harder for some reason in the small, seemingly mundane problems of life.

This world is temporary, just like the problems of the is world.  That doesn’t make it easier in the moment, but hopefully it helps give us more perspective and helps us keep our eyes and spirit upward.

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but – what is unseen is eternal. – 2 Corinthians 4:18

And hopefully next time, I can handle the next “life” problem (not bad) with a little more grace.

-S

Leave a Reply

