You Don’t Know Me

Pretty much my entire life I’ve been taken the wrong way, even disliked, simply for being me.

And it’s true I can be selfish, some years more than others. It’s something I’ve been working on.

And it’s true some years my walk with God wasn’t a priority, at all.

However, thank goodness for a God that forgives, that rains mercy down on sinners like me.

If only humans could let each other grow a little as well.

I have a lot of flaws, but I’ve always loved hard and always been upfront and I’ve never been a coward.

you dont know meAnd yet, I’m taken with a tone, an attitude simply because I’m me.

And people have always have preconceived notions of what that meant.

Honestly, in so many ways I’m used to it. I had to remind someone just this week that my words were literally verbatim my sisters (we do this a lot) – yet taken completely different.

And I’m the one personally attacked. People put a “tone” on me even when I don’t.

And I’m not saying I never do, just that people imply it even when I don’t.

I’m used to it. I’m also tired of it, especially from people who are technically related.

This doesn’t mean you know me. Or you’ve ever tried to know me.

Thankfully, I have a God who sees me and loves me for who I am – a work in progress.

  • J
Leave a Reply

