Time for Combat

I haven’t really thought about purity since my wedding. It was finally something I could lay down; too long a battle justified in earthly logic, finally right with God (at least in this) – if just by default.

But I’m thinking about purity again. Temptations of nonsexual nature, luring me to unrighteous living, impure thoughts.

Separation from God – completely founded in earthly logic-  this is Satan’s specialty.

Logic vs faith

Temptations…mine are still the same…well, the same since the wedding.

Hard to love people. People the world would justify cutting off. People who only hurt (in a million paper cuts sort of way).

And tone. Always the tongue with me. Wanting to explode, wanting to tell off. Flinging around unintentional, yet fully aware, disrespect.

And I try and I fail. These things, these ploys are well crafted ,specific actions, temptations from the devil. They are hand designed just for me, with my logic and my weaknesses in mind and they set me in impure actions and ungodly ways and hold myself and those I love back from Christ.

And earthly logic does not matter.

“I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead I do what I hate.

But if I know what I am doing is wrong this shows that I agree the law is good. So I am not the one doing wrong.

It is sin living in me that does it”

Romans 7:15-18 (paul)

impure thoughts on easterAnd the combat to sin is still prayer. Power accessed through Jesus Christ. I don’t have to be a slave to my sins. I don’t have to live in impurity because of my weak flesh.

Jesus came flesh and all; He holds my weakness. He trades me His power for my failures straight up.
I’d be a fool to forget, to say no on the cusp of Easter.

“He himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, so that we might die to sin and live in righteousness; for by His wounds I am healed” – 1 Peter 2:24

  • J
Leave a Reply

