What Shall I Fear?

“Fear not Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding reward.”  Genesis 15:1b

 

I don’t usually (and by not usually, I mean never) read King James version.  But, for some reason, my Bible app had reset to this setting.  I am so glad it did, because I love this version of this verse.

 

God protects us and He is our reward.  The two main things.

 

We know he has our back. And we know what we are fighting for ~ a reward we’ve already been given.

 

We’ve already won and God is on our side.

 

Truly, what do we have to fear?

 

This is not what I would consider my “natural” demeanor or inclination when it comes to fear, worry, or anxiety.  

But, for some reason, I am becoming increasingly okay with this idea – Making the conscious choice of letting things go because I know who is in control, I know who knows better than I, and I know at the end of my life I will find myself sitting at His feet.
So, again, truly, what do I have to fear?

– S

One thought on “What Shall I Fear?

  1. That is one of my favorite verses. Here is Abraham. He just made a bunch of enemies by defeating other kings. But he’s not worried about protection. He knows that God is his shield. He is being offered a great reward for his success in the battle. But he doesn’t want it. The thing he wants most is something money cannot buy, something no man can give him. He is still waiting for the promised child. And even in the waiting, God is his very great reward. He can look to the heavens and see the stars to be reminded of God’s promise to him. He knows God will answer and therein is his contentment. That verse has brought me great comfort through the years. I love that it brings you comfort too. Love you, sweet girl (both of you!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

