New Year, New You (?)

01
found at http://albumaniola.blogspot.com/

It’s that time again – the time for new year resolutions and goals that will fade by Easter.  I was thinking about it in early December how I really wanted to continue what I had been working on. (Getting fiscally and physically healthier while living my faith out loud.)  

There is nothing wrong with these goals.  In fact, I like keeping them a little broad and making it about life changes rather than a specific goal.  

However, as I was reading Choose Joy, I was struck with a new way of thinking.  Don’t make goals of what to accomplish, but, rather, of how you want to live.  

It’s potentially a nuance, but an important one.  

I want to live out what 2 TImothy 3:10 says.

“But you know what I teach and how I live.  You know what I want to do.  You know about my faith and my love.  You know how long I am willing to work for something.  You know how I keep on working for God even when it is hard for me.”

This is how I want to live my life.  Being healthy and fiscally responsible give me greater ability physically and financially to serve God and do these things, but it’s important to remember that they are the avenue, not the destination.
I want to live a life that makes my faith undeniably clear.  I want my life to always come back to how I serve God and am faithful through the mountains and the valleys.  That is what I want to focus on coming into the new year.  How can I better serve Him?  

Leave a Reply

