A God that Weeps

I have so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving season!  I think we can all mutually agree we all do.  What I’m particularly struck with gratitude over, in this 11 o’clock hour, is the greatness of my God.

And I don’t mean greatness like He’s good or great to me (which He is)…but His majesty, His power…

The idea the kids’ song expresses, “My God is so BIG, so STRONG, and so MIGHTY.  There’s nothing my God cannot do.”

We all call on God for different things at different times ~ drawn to different elements of who He is – friend, counselor, savior, father, etc.

 

But today –

in the quiet and solitude of my own bedroom, alone with my Creator –

I call on the God who is greater than the crushing weight of this world…

the God who weeps alongside me,

weeps alongside everyone who feels overwhelmed and beaten,  who feels powerless in the face of evil

weeps alongside the mother who cannot comfort her babes

weeps alongside the dad feeling powerless in the future of his children

weeps alongside the vet sleeping too many nights on the same cold bench.

I call on the God who is bigger than all this, big enough to see all this.

 

Big enough to hold me, comfort me, and then nudge me – keep going, keep pushing, keep loving.

Keep weeping, bear witness, represent me, and do something.

  • S
One thought on “A God that Weeps

Leave a Reply

