It’s Not Us or Them

We used to be a bold, courageous country. Yes, maybe at times we were fearful; however we didn’t let those emotions control us. We harnessed them for good. Today, it seems like we are letting fear dictate our decisions and alter our moral compass.

That is surrender; that is letting the enemy win.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” Edmund Burke

Aren’t we a country of “good men?” (and women!)

And furthermore, the primary argument I hear is that we should be helping homeless American citizens and veterans instead…but that’s a flawed logic for three primary reasons (in my opinion).

  • God doesn’t value American lives over any other culture. We are all brothers and sisters united in His eyes.
  • If we act give into this fear, we are acting against the very thing veterans fought for; freedom from tyranny and the right to pursue the American dream without fear.
  • Mostly, it’s not one or the other, us or them; and this is perfectly illustrated in the gospels (Matthew 14:13-21; Mark 6:30-44; Luke 9:10-17; John 6:1-15):

There was a huge crowd (estimated at 5,000) and the disciples (with the best intentions) told Jesus to send them away, there wasn’t enough to share. Send them to take care of themselves and buy their own food.

And Jesus replied (and I’m paraphrasing) “bring me what you can (5 measly loaves of bread and two fish) and lets give it all away, and don’t worry about it, I’ll make it work”

Note he didn’t say, “I can turn these 5 loaves into 5,000. So tell 4,000 people to stay and we’ll use the extra 1,000 loaves to nourish ourselves first and then help out those in need, plus have extra rations for later”

His response wasn’t logical or humanly possible. It was IMPOSSIBLE from any rational standard, but that’s the beauty of my God.

It’s not us or them; we are all in this life together. And yes, as a believer in God, I am called to use wisdom, but when it comes to helping people God was and is always radical.

And that makes me smile, arms wide open in confident faith He’ll take care of the details.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’  Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’  And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:35-40

But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him? Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth. 1 John 3:17-18

J

One thought on “It’s Not Us or Them

Leave a Reply

