Faith Trumps Fear

Sometimes this world utterly confuses me.
Evil strikes. Everywhere. (Although highlighted and publicized in the areas deemed of most use.)

from KCTV read story at http://www.cbs46.com/story/30519097/kc-city-hall-union-station-downtown-marriott-lit-in-solidarity-after-attacks
KC Union Station 11/14/15 from KCTV
read story at http://www.cbs46.com/story/30519097/kc-city-hall-union-station-downtown-marriott-lit-in-solidarity-after-attacks

And the world rallies, and people and buildings paint themselves in blue white and red.

Yet, hate ensues and spews. And it saddens me that some of my friends post rhetoric about closing borders and refugee terrorists and protecting our own.

Last time I checked, refugees and terrorists aren’t the same thing. And all shouldn’t be condemned for the evil few hiding among them.

And more so the Bible is clear…love your neighbors (global and domestic) AND love your enemies.

And it’s no wonder our Christian label confuses people when our first concern is ourselves and our first inclination is hate. And it’s no wonder my Jesus is viewed with skepticism, and maybe Ghandi had it right, “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians.”

And we can’t be perfect no matter what. And I all too easily understand and agree with going after ISIS. Attacking evil is logical and biblical.

However, attacking an entire religion, and entire people, and entire refugee group – how is this logical or compassionate?! And where does faith back it up?

At the end of the day I worry for the world, but I don’t worry for my own safety or for my children’s safety. As for me and my house, we serve The Lord.

And I fully believe it’s our job to love hard and recklessly… And to err on the side of love and compassion.

And God will use this terrible, messed up world and the evil some people pursue for good. Even if I don’t understand it. And He will protect me and my family despite it all.

“And if not, He is still good” Daniel 3:18

And at the end of the day my faith trumps my fear. And I want to live like that.

  • J
Leave a Reply

