Waiting for the 12 Steps

Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. – 2 Corinthians 12:8-9

I consider myself a strong female, and I think most people would agree.

However, lately I’ve felt very weak, over my head, confused.

More than three times I’ve called out to God. Asking for obvious help, obvious answers. A 12 step plan for peace and renewed energy and perhaps a well detailed sleep regime for my bear cub.

I learned a long time ago God has three answers: yes, no, and wait.

(and there are infinite variations of these answers but it all boils down to those three simple answers.)

I’ve clearly been told to wait. To stand firm, assured where I am because He is at work in ways I can’t see (and may never know).

Wait, is my least favorite answer; especially when its coupled with feeling emotionally drained.

12 step plans“my grace is all you need”

I’m learning a lot about grace right now. I’m bad at extending it towards myself (as well as some key others)

However, it’s not about my imperfect grace or whether my heart can wrap itself around forgiveness enough to truly mean it…

HIS grace is all I need and HE will provide me with the strength and wisdom for each consecutive moment (not a pre planned laid out 12 step plan).

His is a 1 step plan and it goes like this;

  1. trust me (God)

then in the very next moment….trust me again.

He may decide to not take my burdens for a good long time. I may be resting with them a good long while.

But at the end, and middle, and beginning of each weak moment I must remind myself His grace is all I need. And He meets me where I am.

-J

Leave a Reply

