With One Blow

I get excited about little things.  That is part of why I love November 1st.  To me, it marks when everything Christmas is acceptable – yup I’m one of those people.  In fact, I’m exercising quite the self-control because I haven’t listened to Christmas music yet and it is November 5th already.  These are just the little things that make me happy.  

I have lots of things in life that make me happy, but I am really blessed because I have so many people/things that I delight in.  

But what if God decided to take it all?

This is what happened to Ezekiel.  (Ezekiel 24:15-17a)  God intentionally took the person Ezekiel treasured the most, his wife.  

Then this message came to me from the Lord: “Son of man, with one blow I will take away your dearest treasure. Yet you must not show any sorrow at her death. Do not weep; let there be no tears. Groan silently, but let there be no wailing at her grave…

God did this as an example to everyone that they would be losing “their stronghold-their joy and glory, their heart’s desire, their dearest treasure” (Ezekiel 24:25).  This was all part of a greater plan God had to bring His children back to Him.  

They needed to learn that He was God and He should be their everything.  He should be the source of all their delight.

I can’t help reflecting – If I’m honest with myself, are there things that I delight in more than God?  Who would those people be?  What would those things/activities be?  

What if we asked God to remove anything that we delight in more than Him?  Or at least to diminish it?  

How do we intentionally take the time (because ultimately that is what is) to truly delight in our God, all that He is and all that He does?

Ultimately, how do we really come to the point that God was trying to drive his people to…

“…Then, they will know that I am the Lord.” (Ezekiel 24:27)

-S

Leave a Reply

