For a Little While

If there has been one overriding theme in my writing the last 8 months, it has been this idea of change and wanting to know the future.  I think I can say it has been in the desire to be faithful to God’s will, but perhaps, it is also about self-confidence and reaching all the way back to Adam and Eve’s desire to know more than God intended

“Look here, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain town and will stay there a year. We will do business there and make a profit.” How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone. What you ought to say is, “If the Lord wants us to, we will live and do this or that.”  Otherwise you are boasting about your own pretentious plans, and all such boasting is evil.” James 4:13-16

Instead, I need to respond to the little things…the little while.  Following God’s plan for my day today.  I still need to pray and be open to changes and big things, but God wants to use us every day.  My focus on a need for big changes takes away the power of God to work in the details of our lives every single day.  

7964675_11406554_pmOur life is our worshipping ground.  Our life is our mission field.  In the today, the little while.  In the everyday and ordinary.  
If the Lord wants me to, I will live and try to use the ordinary to show the extraordinary character, love, mercy, grace and justice of my God.

Leave a Reply

