Give Freely

Freely you have received, freely give. Matthew 10:8

Let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or from necessity, for God loves a cheerful giver. 2 Corinthians 9:7

Give freely:

My words for 2015.

Sometimes I get caught up in the circumstances of life and this simply doesn’t happen (the giving freely).

Other times, I continue to give, but keep a mental checklist and then grow irritated when the tallies don’t even begin to match.

This is not giving freely and does not bring any glory to my God. It opens a space for resentment to fester, and it’s ugly. I am no longer giving freely out of His abundance of love and grace and blessings.

When bitterness follows, I am grudgingly giving from necessity, and it is clearly written this is not what God has in mind.

This is not acting in faith because the fruits of His spirit are rooted in His amazing grace, in arms wide open. Not my palms up, angry face.

God loves a cheerful giver, not the one who gives the most. But the ones who give it all from the heart.

The Lords been working overtime in my life, and so has the devil, and I’m just now beginning to loosen my grip. To let go of the worry…to actually live like I trust.

It’s not about controlling the chaos that ensues. Or maintaining checks and balances.

give freelyIt’s palms up, arms open, happy face.

Its taking joy, delighting in the ability to do His work. To give from a place of abundance, even when its inconvenient.

-J

Leave a Reply

