He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

I have this tendency to worry about all the things I can’t control.  Worry about things that I cannot always influence at this point/stage of my life; and then get hung up on the fact that this must be an inadequacy in me or the way I am serving God.  This is wrong for so many reasons.  God already sent the Savior; He doesn’t want or expect me to save the world.

John 17 is my favorite chapter in the Bible. In this chapter, Jesus is praying for the disciples, as the day of his arrest is approaching.  When I read it last time, honestly, it was like I could breathe again – released from this place of self questioning, indictment, and guilt.

Within this prayer, Jesus says,

“My prayer is not for the world, but for those you have given me, because they belong to you.” – John 17:9

God doesn’t call us as individuals to save and fight for justice for every single person on earth.  We are called to save and fight for justice for those that He has given us and put in our sphere of influence.  

For some of us, that may mean going to a far off country, for some it means serving in poverty, for some it means putting our lives in danger to to serve the least of these.  

Clockwork Eyes by Michael Ryan

But, for some of us, it means recognizing where the hurt and opportunity is around us.  There are hurt, struggling, poor, homeless, splintered, needy, lost souls all around us.  If we can’t see these people, then we need to look at the bubble we have built around ourselves and/or pray for the eyes to see the need in those that God has given us.

I don’t need to save the world (even though my heart really feels like I should).  I need to look around me and live love with the people who I come in contact with every day.  I need to identify those that He has given me.  I need to shower them with love, grace, and mercy as I fight for justice in daily life, humbly and thankfully proclaiming the wonders of my almighty God.


He’s got the whole world in His hands because I can’t have the whole world in my hands.  But he can help me to focus on the world He has me living in with the people He has given to me at this point in my life.

-S

Leave a Reply

