Give Thanks

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in ALL circumstances”

1 Thessalonians 5:16

Attitude matters as much as behavior. I’ve been told this my entire life… “its not what you say, its how you say it.”

There are a few key people I’d like to shove this concept down their throat, nicely, and on repeat.

Truth is I need it for myself, just as much and maybe worse.

I understand the concept, I even understand how it applies to me. I’m still grappling with how to effectively apply it.

I’m apologizing a lot these days.

My inner snapdragon feels justified and then uncontrollable and then guilty.

Anger easily fills me up, I hate this, but it’s a truth.

I can easily write lists and lists in my gratitiude journal and I do, daily. And anger still seeps in and would fuel me entirely if I let it.

I could spew flames about 10 different situations while being grateful for 20 and run off the endorphins for miles…I’m not sure what that means about me.

Anger easily fuels me, then leaves me smoldering ashes to clean up…internally and externally.

give thanks“Give thanks in ALL circumstances”

God’s directive is pretty clear, so today I will give thanks not complaints. I will rejoice if it kills me…and I’ll work on tomorrow, tomorrow.

-J

Leave a Reply

