Come to the Feast Without Excuses

If someone invites me to go out to eat, I will typically jump at the chance.  I love to eat out.  I don’t know why when I am surrounded by good cooks, but I do.

However, in Luke 14, Jesus tells the story of a man who planned a great feast and invited a bunch of people, but none of them came.  They all had excuses.  Excuses that seemed legitimate when examined on their own grounds.

God has given us all a mission.  A mission to follow him, serve Him, glorify him. “You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’ And, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” (Luke 10:27)

He has also given us each a specific purpose that He has given us each special gifts that we can use to further His work here on earth.  He calls quietly on our souls to use these.

How often do we make excuses though?  I’m too busy. I’m too tired.  I’ve done my share.  My family schedule is too packed. I can’t afford it. It’s too risky.  I’m scared.  Ultimately, doesn’t God just want me to be happy?

I’m tired of making excuses.  I don’t want to miss out on the amazing banquet of life God has called me  to because I’ve become too focused on earthly limitations.  Limitations that seem legitimate based on an earthly context, based on only the context of my life.

tumblr_m81kilDJVh1qbq6rso1_1280I don’t want that to be my context.  I want to try to see from a heavenly context – one without limitations because I worship a God without any limitations.

When I receive invitations from my Savior, i want to respond with a squeal of delight (okay and some times it might be one of fear) as I jump to my feet and go running in the direction to which He is calling me.

-S

Leave a Reply

