So You Wanna Be a Hero Kid…

“Your journey to being a hero begins when you simply grant God permission to have his way.” – Lisa Bevere in Girls with Swords

So, not going to lie, I’ve always had a bit of a hero complex.  After all, that seems to be what the world needs more of…heroes.  People who are willing to set their needs aside and risk it all in order to make the world a better place.  

The problem is that this vision has, up to recently, centered around what I needed to do, what I needed to give up, etc.  However, as I’ve granted “God permission to have His way.”  I’ve seen where/how he takes over to make us heroes.  

“To be a true hero, kid, is a dying art

Like painting a masterpiece, it’s a work of heart

It takes more than sinew

Comes down to what’s in you

You have to continue to grow”

     from Disney’s Hercules

I’d modify this to be it’s who is in you, but otherwise Disney got it pretty right here.  God needs heroes.  That’s why we’re here, but it’s not heroes as we think of it in today’s society.  Heroes put their own needs, but, most importantly, their will to the side.  They let God take control and lead them to where He can make a hero out of them.  
As a bit of a  control freak, this can be hard for me.  However, it is also incredibly liberating.  If I’m truly trusting Him and letting Him have his way, it releases some of the pressure on me.  I can make the biggest difference and work towards being a hero where God has placed me when I give Him the reins.

-S

Leave a Reply

