Sweeping Tides and Raging Seas

I hear the tumult of the raging seas as your waves and surging tides sweep over me

Psalm 42:7

I love everything about this.

Maybe it’s simply because I love the ocean, more likely its because I love my God.

Truth be told, parts of the ocean scare me. It is powerful and dangerous and uncontrollable and unpredictable.

Except to the one who created it; the one who commands the tides to follow the moon and kiss the shores.

That is power.

That is love. Maybe I’m vain in this next thought…maybe not…but maybe He kisses the shores and brings in seashells just for my pure delight.

He could have made the oceans work anyway he pleases, and He chose a way which delights me so.

Oh how He loves me!

Oh how I fear him!

I’ve always hated the verses about fearing God. It contradicts itself “do not be afraid, do not be dismayed for I am with you” Isaiah 41:10 and then “here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind.” Ecclesiastes 12:13

But just this morning I’m beginning to understand how to love something beyond explanation- yet also have a healthy dose of fear.

Understand the power behind the grace and awe, understanding the beauty and strength; the ruler of the ocean.

So yes, my heart gets overwhelmed and I can feel the tumult of the raging sea in front me. However, even within the raging ,when I say yes to God he is controlling the swells and tides as they sweep over me, push me under, roll me around…and he will reach down and pull me up for air as well.

You’d think with my mermaid soul I’d enjoy the ride of the waves a little more than I am, I’m ssweep over metill learning to trust the hand that guides them though.

The sea is my rage and his tide may be over my head, but it’s in deepest waters where I learn to stop relying on myself.

And I have an inkling that when the waves do calm my spirit will be yearning for the days I had no choice but to cling to His hand in the waves.

-J

Leave a Reply

