A Temple of Holiness

“And, this is the basic law of the temple: absolute holiness!” Ezekiel 43:12

“Don’t you realize that you are the temple of God?” – 1 Corinthians 3:16a

This week I’ve been contemplating these two different verses and what their mutual truth mean for me.

If we are the temple, what does this mean for us?

Are we automatically holy because we are a temple or are we made holy through our actions?  What is our responsibility to create a life intent on holiness?

How do I cultivate a culture of holiness in my life?

I’m not sure, but it is a new angle for reflection at this point in my life.   I think it is about being intentional.

Trying to keep in mind with the choices I am presented, does this decision bring me closer to or further from holiness?  Bring me closer to or further from God’s plan for my life?  Closer to or further  from God himself?
We can never be made holy on our own.  It is through the gift of salvation from Jesus Christ.  My actions will never be enough.  However, I want to make sure that I am honoring that gift and strengthening my relationship with him by respecting His temple, which is me.  I also want to make sure I am using this temple to do His work and worship Him.

-S

Leave a Reply

