Whispers to the Heart

The Lord our God has secrets known to no one. We are not accountable for them, but we are accountable forever for all that he has revealed to us… – Deuteronomy 29:29

We aren’t promised knowledge of everything and, so, we are not responsible for what we could not possibly know.  However, we are accountable for those things God has made known to us; to those things He has called to us – for those things we know and God’s whisperings to our souls.

Sometimes, these callings seem like too much for me.  I doubt and try to convince myself that surely that is not what God is saying, but deep in my soul, my heart knows.  I still have the freewill to choose to ignore this, but I will ultimately be held accountable for that decision that I made under full revelation of His calling.

So, the question becomes, how will I run after God’s whispers?  The ones that are scary, intimidating, hard, seemingly impossible?

“This command I am giving you today is not too difficult for you, and it is not beyond your reach. It is not kept in heaven, so distant that you must ask, ‘Who will go up to heaven and bring it down so we can hear it and obey?’ It is not kept beyond the sea, so far away that you must ask, ‘Who will cross the sea to bring it to us so we can hear it and obey?’ No, the message is very close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart so that you can obey it. – Deuteronomy 30: 11-14

It is on your lips and in your heart.  Let me obey whole heartedly when Your call seems frightening, just as when it seems easy.  Let me speak from my lips what you speak to my heart.

One thought on “Whispers to the Heart

Leave a Reply

