Be Bold

It’s easy to practice a quiet, comfortable faith.  I did this for a long time.  My faith has always been unquestioning and unwavering, but something I kept for myself and by myself.  However, this limited myself and, more importantly, limited God and His ability to use me. God doesn’t call us to this kind of life.

He made the world to be lived in,

   not to be a place of empty chaos.

“I am the Lord,” he says,

   “and there is no other.

I publicly proclaim bold promises.

   I do not whisper obscurities in some dark corner.

-Isaiah 45:18b-19a

God does make bold promises.  He promises salvation through his Son.  He promises grace, mercy, compassion, and justice for the poor and the weak.  He promises a season for all things.  He promises us purpose in our lives.  He promises love unending.

fb2f75626a7e8b810041127da64bc9c8This also needs to be true of me.  I believe God calls us to a life of radical love, of bold faith.  How am I being bold for Him?  No life of obscurities and dark corners for me!

My sister, for the last few years, has done something where she picks a word to really focus on for that year.  I’ve been thinking a lot about this recently and kept thinking about unapologetic.  After really focusing on this verse, though, I have settled on bold.    I want everything I do, everything I say, my way of being, to be a bold statement of who I am through Christ.  My faith needs to be lived, without being made up of chaos.  It needs to bold and not obscure jargon.

by Dan McCaw
by Dan McCaw

We are called to live our lives, live our faith boldly, specifically, intentionally, and out in the world and daylight for others to see and be drawn too.  This can be scary.  It creates a new sense of vulnerability and a sense of responsibility.  Both of which can be daunting.  However, it is immensely powerful.  I have found the more ways I allow my faith to sink in and infiltrate every part of my life, every part of my being, the more I want and the more I am unable to contain it.  While God’s love and mercy does satisfy my soul, I find myself seeking Him even more, wanting him to use and push me even more.  At the end of my life, I don’t want to find myself with my faith in my hands, sitting safely in some dark corner.  I want to know that I acted boldly for God living in the world, but not being of the world.

Lord, let my life be a bold statement of faith and love for you!

-S

One thought on “Be Bold

Leave a Reply

