Taming the Tongue

People can tame all kinds of animals, birds, reptiles, and fish, but no one can tame the tongue…Sometimes it praises our Lord and Father, and sometimes it curses those who have been made in the image of God.  And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth.  – James 3:7-10

What I think is most interesting about these verses is the line “curse those who have been made in the image of God.”

James could have easily said “and the next moment curses God.”

taming tongueIt would have made my life easier, I rarely feel like cursing God. I often feel like cursing other people. People made in the image of God.

Every time we curse, hurt, bad mouth, yell….we ARE cursing at God.

We are assaulting His creation and, so assaulting, Him.

That seems big, perhaps even melodramatic, but I can say without a doubt you hurt one of my babes and you directly hurt me…

And since we are all (even the pain in the butt people) children of God…

The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.

Romans 8:16

I’ve always known I was loved and treasured by earthly parents and my heavenly Father. It never sank in how much until I held my babes in my arms and belly. It still overwhelms me that such a love exists.

It’s a big task, I’m still learning to treat those I love well…let alone those I want to curse.

But I’m trying really hard to remember we’re all somebody’s baby…least of all God’s.

“Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

 “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’

Matthew 25:37-40

-J

Leave a Reply

