Big and Little Suitcases

Sometimes I can get so frustrated.  I want to know the plan.  I want to follow God’s will.  So, can’t He just tell me what that is already?  I feel like I’m ready for bigger ways to serve Him.  I’m ready to follow.  So, why can’t He just get to the point?

“Who does the Lord think we are?” they ask.

   “Why does he speak to us like this?

Are we little children,

   just recently weaned?

He tells us everything over and over—

one line at a time,

   one line at a time,

a little here,

   and a little there!”

Isaiah 28:9-10

The Israelites were feeling this way, too.  Just like me, a little over confident and a lot impatient.  However, they were forgetting a HUGE detail.  He was speaking to them.  They just were too busy looking for their answers in their way that they weren’t listening for His words.

God has told his people…

   But they would not listen.

So the Lord will spell out his message for them again,

one line at a time,

   one line at a time,

a little here,

   and a little there…

Isaiah 28:12-13

God is telling us constantly and consistently the ways we should go.  We have to be willing to listen to what He is saying and how He is saying it.

e8c20db5360a8ad2b5dbfd3ba3b4af9aWhen I was little, I would want to know things that I shouldn’t/couldn’t know.  My dad would always talk about suitcases at that point.  He would say something like, “Remember, when we went on vacation?  You helped carry bags.  I gave you a bag I knew you could carry.  I carried the bigger, heavier suitcases.  This is a big, heavy suitcase.  So, I’ll carry this one and you don’t have to worry about it.”

My dad’s wisdom is also applicable here.  God tells us things one line at a time, a little here, a little there for a reason.  We don’t necessarily know the reason, but we have to trust that he will tell us at the appropriate time.

We will be prepared for what He calls us to if we stop and listen.  However, we also have to trust His timing and His way of telling us.

-S

One thought on “Big and Little Suitcases

Leave a Reply

