Good Intentions and Love Acted out

“Help me to remain open to ways I can be a gift to others, even when I’m busy or burdened. Don’t let me underestimate the comfort I can bring, since Your spirit is alive in me”

I hate good intentions; they mean nothing. Action is what matters.

But… I have a lot of good intentions myself. A lot of kind ideas that I set aside because I convince myself (or let the devil good intentionsconvinces me) it wont make a difference and/or I’ll look foolish.

That’s why I love the last part of this prayer: “don’t let me underestimate the comfort I can bring since Your spirit is alive in me”

I talk myself down from kindness when I am focusing on myself.

I fail a lot. I look foolish a lot.

When I lean on my own understanding, I confuse myself and let the devil take me in circles of good intentions with little action.

Scripture is very clear:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understand. In all your ways acknowledge him, and He will make you paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

I am highly efficient. I would much rather go straight than in in circles, I hate going no where. Yet, when I start over thinking (kindness of all things) circles are all I’m doing.

Truth is the answer is simple, go to the Lord. Lean on His wisdom, wait for his nudge then ACT. Don’t doubt it, don’t over analyze it.

And worst case scenario, it’s always better to err on the side of kindess, love acted out.

-J

Leave a Reply

