Where are the other radicals?

Shauna and I have been talking a lot lately about what it means to live a radical life.

Truth be told, I’m extremely disappointed with my middle class ‘white bread’ peer group.

I hear all the time:

“That sounds like a great cause or a good idea. But I’m really busy…or tired… (or doing something else and don’t want to be inconvenienced)”

radicalLet me tell you a little secret…we are all tired, busy, and have other things to do. We all have busy lives and priorities. We have things we’re saving up for and things that break and need fixing. I think its safe to say 90% of us are walking around in constant exhaustion. (or maybe that’s just me)

And yet, these same people  talk like concerned people, concerned Christians. They want to do the easy things to get warm fuzzies inside. But when it comes to the nitty gritty inconvenient helping, no ones left standing.

I’m not talking about polite conversations, holding doors for strangers, or even letting the person in line behind you go first (because you have a 1 yr old throwing all the food besides the apple he’s already eating out of the cart…)

I’m talking about truly investing in the lives of others less fortunate – in a way that has no personal or monetary gains for you (although I would argue once you’re invested, your emotional gains often outweigh what you’re giving of yourself).

I don’t think I live a radical life; yet I’m often the only married with kids adult in a room full of volunteers.

It’s the time, the inconvenient commitment to care that seems to be missing in my peer group. Most love to donate money and goods, especially during the holidays…oh that feels just great. Big warm and fuzzies! But caring enough to act on it…who has the time for that!?

Not me! I’m tired, and pregnant and still need groceries, and to do the mountain of laundry in my closet, and clean crayon off the toilet…and, and, and.

I don’t like to think I’m radical. Because, if I am, that leaves America in a sorry state of compassion. But then why do I often feel like the only one in my peer group who has a fire in their soul as well their fireplace!?

-J

Leave a Reply

