Cooked to Perfection: From Warming Up to Burnt to a Crisp

Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.

   I have called you by name; you are mine.

When you go through deep waters,

   I will be with you.

When you go through rivers of difficulty,

   you will not drown.

When you walk through the fire of oppression,

   you will not be burned up;

   the flames will not consume you.

Isaiah 43: 1b-2

 

39fba6ec2fa23142bb7d92a44703a10dTroubles WILL come.  There are no if’s about it.  When you go through deep waters…When you go through rivers of difficulty…when you walk through the fire of oppression.

“The good news is that you’re just passing through.  Don’t give into the inclination to murmur and complain because neither fire nor water is a friendly place to camp.  They are processes to successfully navigate.” – Lisa Bevere in Girls with Swords.

Process is something you do for a specific result.  What is the purpose of this process?  What is God trying to create in me or what am I supposed to understand a sa result of this process?  God allows for many things.  So, while it is difficult to recognize this at the time, I have to be willing to see and celebrate God’s hands in my life – in every circumstance.  I don’t complain or murmur when His blessings are obvious; so, I shouldn’t murmur or complain in the blessings that are hidden in hardship.

Truth be told, I feel like I am used to this experience in many ways.  I start to get nervous when things seem too easy or too comfortable.  I know God doesn’t call us to be comfortable.  So, for me, comfort is a season.  It marks that I am wrapping up one learning phase and getting ready to embark on another.  Comfort can itself become unsettling.

“The key to successfully navigating them is knowing that our God is in charge of setting the temperature and the timer.” – Bevere

6c78fb6a6cb5b06c320c2ce48e46693eSometimes He’s just warming us up, reminding us of something we’ve already learned.  Othertimes it feels like He’s going for the slow and steady, burn to a crisp setting.  Either way, we have to live confidently that He is in control and that He has a plan.  As Joseph would remind us, God will use it all for good (Genesis 50).  It may not make sense to us and we may be more than ready to get out of the kitchen; however, ultimately, He know the exact temperature and time to cook us to perfection.

-S

Leave a Reply

