5 Things I’ve Learned (and am Still Learning) from My Mom

My mom, sister, and I  Dec. 2014
My mom, sister, and I
Dec. 2014

My boundaries are (practically) limitless.

This is incredibly powerful.  I am a highly confident, professional woman and this is in part due to the fact that I was told repeatedly that I was capable of doing whatever I wanted.  Well, almost, my parents also believe in a healthy dose of reality,but that’s what made me know it was true.  If I worked hard enough and wanted something, I could be/do whatever I wanted.  Every time the self-conscious, insecure teenage girl questioned herself, I received confident affirmation.  I’ve carried that into my adult life.  I know I can get things done.  So, I make goals, plans, and carry those out with the confidence that I am able because of who God has made me at my core.  That’s not to say I don’t have doubts, but, when those come out, my mom is still quick to tell me not to undercut myself or God.  Follow God’s will and He will make the things happen that should happen.  As I’ve found the last few years, this is often different, bigger, and more amazing than I ever could imagine.

My mom and I  November 2014
My mom and I
November 2014

The greatest gift we can give to others is compassion.

There is a lot of need in this world.  The greatest need is potentially compassion.  My mom is really good at listening to others without judging.  We are talking we go through the drive thru and the worker at the window for some reason is sharing all about their day to my mom.   People just tell her things and she listens.  At the core of our humanity, isn’t that what we all want and need?  To know we are seen and heard as fellow human beings?

The best way to make frosting is just to add another stick of butter.

Not joking, just buy canned frosting and add a stick of butter.  It will change your life (and potentially your cholesterol level).  You can thank me later.

My mom, sister, and I  Around 1993
My mom, sister, and I
Around 1993

It is okay to be exactly who I am.

I think this is potentially the most empowering understanding I’ve come to as an adult.  It seems obvious.  There is a huge difference between knowing this and understanding/embracing it.  My mom has always told me to let go of others’ expectations of myself.  If I’m living what God is calling me to do, then everything is as it should be.  I don’t have to be or do what people/society expect of me.  I just have to be me and live true to the woman and lifestyle to which God has called me.  With this acceptance, there came such a huge release of weight.  Now, this is not to say that I never worry about what others think, but this is a passing thought for the most part.  I can live content and happy as the work in progress that I am.

The Strong Women of our Family (and Nici) March 2015
The Strong Women of our Family (and Nici)
March 2015

The world requires strong women.

I’m not saying men are off the hook, but the worlds of so many seem to rest on the shoulders of strong women.  Alternately, the worlds of so many are off kilter, waiting for a strong woman to come balance them.  Women who are stronger than their past; women who are stronger than their circumstances; women who carry their burdens and the burdens of others with grace.

My mom’s name, Kelly, means warrior princess.  She hates this, but I think it’s beautiful.  That is what she is.   She has always been a warrior for our family as a whole and for each of us individually.  She is a faith warrior, a prayer warrior.  She is a warrior to her core, fighting to make the world better for those she loves.  She is the epitome of a strong woman, a living example of what I try to be day in and day out.

Happy Mother’s Day!

-S

One thought on “5 Things I’ve Learned (and am Still Learning) from My Mom

Leave a Reply

