Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Spiritual well-being, our relationship with God, is like other relationships, skills, hobbies…stagnancy results in decline.  We must make time for practice, reflection, communication.  We must be honest with ourselves.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear with signatureFor me, my work lately (and always) is trust.  Trusting God is a funny thing.  I’ve always trusted that He would be there, trusted that He has a greater plan.  That doesn’t mean I’ve always let go of worry though.

Lately, I have had/am having a lot of high stakes possibilities in my life, both personally and in my family. I’m learning that trusting God means letting go of worry.  He will take care of the details; He always does. I don’t always succeed at letting the worry go completely, but when I do it feels amazing!

So, as a I enter another high stakes situation this morning, I am going to really try to let my trust in God to also carry away my worry.

One day at a time, one situation at a time, one prayer at a time…

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.                                                                                                                             Philippians 4:6-7

-S

Leave a Reply

