Mary, Highly Favored

mary highlyMary: highly favored

Mary: blessed among women

Mary: mother of Jesus

You’d think with phrases like that to describe her that her life would have been easy…or at least full of sunshine and flowers, maybe never ending starbucks or permanently pedicured toes…

And while I have no doubt it was full of joy and happy times, it was also doubtlessly full of immense sorrow, worry, and confusion.

The exhaustion of raising one headstrong, spirited strong boy wears me out. I can’t imagine raising the most spirited, strong little boy to ever exist (because before he was a man, our Messiah, he was a little boy, and there was a tired momma) and then his ministry began and the trials of His earthly life…those also wear on a momma.

My point, I guess, even for the highly favored, and blessed among women, life is hard, faith is hard.

Who am I to demand a break, to expect a break?

I’m not convincing my husband the child within my virgin body is from God, I’m not fleeing King Herod for fear of my baby’s life…I’m not riding anywhere on camel ro donkey back!

When I give a faithful “yes,” who am I to complain the whole time, worry the whole time, or micro manage every current and future detail?

Do I have such little faith?

My God is the God who provides:

“And this is my prayer in the fire

In weakness or trial or pain

There is a faith proved

Of more worth than gold

So refine me, Lord, through the flame…

All of my life

In every season

You are still God

I have a reason to sing

I have a reason to worship”

I can only fathom the roller coaster of seasons in highly favored Mary’s life.

The strength and pure faith required over and over and over. Daily.

I’m in a transitional season in many ways:

-mother in law moving in

-my parents moving away

-Ainslee preparing to come

-my soul preparing to be her mom

-Nici pushing and growing and headstrong

I could continue; this isn’t even half of the list of changes headed our way.

My heart is often overwhelmed these days, in obvious and subtle ways throughout this God given season of change.

But I have a reason to sing, I have a reason to worship.

-J

Leave a Reply

