Standing on the Edge of the Cliff

I’ve always said that I am blessed because faith comes easy.  I’ve never doubted God’s existence, His love for me, or His intentionality  As I grow in my relationship with Christ, acting out my faith becomes both easier and harder though.  It is easy to profess my belief and to live my everyday life.  However, growing faith also means that God will allow more things to come to help you grow: sometimes we don’t have choices and it’s a knock to the head.  Other times, though, God gives us the choice to make a move, take a risk on our unknown.  Risk has never been easy for me. As I mature in my faith, God asks me to risk more, to grow more, which cannot happen in comfort.

“Say goodbye to comfort and peace and safety and doing everything your way, and say hello to a life of faith and adventure” -Ann Spangler

For us to act on faith, we must take risk.  Faith without risk, without discomfort is belief.  I believe faith develops when we completely let go of what we want and allow ourselves to be carried by His will – even when it the opposite of what we want.

Because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. – James 1:3

All of us are on a journey to be closer to Christ, to work to the growth and betterment of His kingdom.  We all have work to be done.  Stagnancy or complacency is dangerous for those of us looking to always go deeper.  Reaching the deep does not happen without faith that has been tried and tested, where we come out victorious because we responded to God’s nudges.

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. – Galatians 2:20

Woman at Yosemite National Park in 1902
Woman at Yosemite National Park in 1902

This is a huge verse that has such a large impact.  I no longer live.  Transforming faith takes us to the edge of a cliff.  We have a choice.  God has always given us a choice.  We can continue to operate in a safe faith playing on the cliff side.  What he really wants us to do, asks us to do, is to jump.  When he sends us that nudge, we need to respond.

I’ll be honest.  I can’t jump without some fearful shifting of my weight from left to right foot.  Some extra worrying about things I can’t control.  Some questioning if this is actually waht God is telling me.  BUT when I know, I don’t want the fear to stop me.  I know God has greater plans than we can ever realize.  He’s just wants me to hand my entire life to him, to take the leap of faith.  He’s waiting. With much greater things than I can possibly imagine!

-S

Leave a Reply

