I Take After Peter

But one of the men with Jesus pulled out his sword and struck the high priest’s slave, slashing off his ear.

“Put away your sword,” Jesus told him. “Those who use the sword will die by the sword. Don’t you realize that I could ask my Father for thousands of angels to protect us, and he would send them instantly?

Matthew 26:51-53

When the other disciples saw what was about to happen, they exclaimed, “Lord, should we fight? We brought the swords!” And one of them (Peter) struck at the high priest’s slave, slashing off his right ear.

But Jesus said, “No more of this.” And he touched the man’s ear and healed him.

Luke 22:49-51

like peter2I take after Peter- not just ready to fight, but so eager to fight I cannot wait for orders.

My fights are generally noble, justice prevailing, peace producing goals…

Amd although I havent literally cut off a man’s ear for Jesus, I think our goals are somewhat similar, fighting for Jesus…

And yet our instructions are clear “put your sword away,” “no more of this”

Fighting leads to more fighting- nobody’s ear may be cut off, but disagreements will grow larger, death creates more death, hurtful words create more hurt.

But Jesus goes even further than just not fighting…he HEALS his enemy. The very men coming to take him away!

To lift up the very person who is in the process of hurting you or your loved ones?!

I am a fighter. It is in my nature, my blood, my wiring.

And yet- God says to adjust my battle tactics. No more swords, no more dagger words, no more fighting.

We are called to a lot of things in this life, especially as warrior women.

But one simple command trumps them all:

Faith , hope, and love, and the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13:13

Especially with all the upheaval in the world today I must learn to slow down my battle cry. To stop and listen to my commander…

And when I am called to the front line, to act, to fight, in love.

-J

Leave a Reply

