Take Up Your Cross

Dad, Mom, Chris, myself, Jessi, and Nici
Dad, Mom, Chris, myself, Jessi, and Nici

Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it. – Matthew 10:37-39

This is one of the most challenging passages in the Bible for me personally.  Not that I have to love God more than others, but I have to love him so much more than others that I am willing to give up everything else.

I have to love him more than my dad.

I have to love him more than my mom.

DJ and I (since he's not in the other picture)
DJ and I (since he’s not in the other picture)

I have to love him more than DJ (my brother).

I have to love him more than Jessi.

I have to love him more than Chris (my brother).

I have to love him more than Nici (my nephew).

I have to love him more than Ainslee (my niece).

 

My life is the list of these people.  I pour out much of who I am and what I have for them – as they do for me.  God is calling me to give up my life?  So, does that mean I have to give them up?

Yes and no.  They will always be there, BUT I cannot choose them over God.  I cannot allow my devotion to them to limit God’s trajectory for me.

So, maybe God’s trajectory will allow me to remain geographically close.  Maybe it won’t.

Either way, I have to love Him enough to take up my cross and follow Him anywhere or stay anywhere.

-S

Show me the right path, O Lord;

   point out the road for me to follow.

Lead me by your truth and teach me,

   for you are the God who saves me.

   All day long I put my hope in you.

Remember, O Lord, your compassion and unfailing love,

   which you have shown from long ages past.

Psalm 25:4-6

Leave a Reply

