Pride Check

God does not need me.  I have always known this, but it really hit me as I was reading Psalm 50.

But I do not need the bulls from your barns

   or the goats from your pens.

For all the animals of the forest are mine,

   and I own the cattle on a thousand hills.

I know every bird on the mountains,

   and all the animals of the field are mine.

If I were hungry, I would not tell you,

   for all the world is mine and everything in it.

-Psalm 50: 9-12

When I put so much importance on my actions and my sacrifice, I lose sight of who controls it all.  Ultimately, He doesn’t need me because He is the master of creation.  HOWEVER, (and it is a big however), I am wanted.  Isn’t that powerful?  God calls to me not because He needs me, but simply because He wants me.  The God who created the seas and put the stars in place wants me.

SPACE

He doesn’t need our sacrifices.  Here is what God says he wants in this Psalm:

Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God,

   and keep the vows you made to the Most High.

Then call on me when you are in trouble,

   and I will rescue you

-Psalm 50: 14-15

He wants our thankfulness, our loyalty/honesty.  He wants our vulnerability and trust.  He wants an authentic relationship.

 

This is what He asks of me.  To come to Him in thankfulness and in pain.  To follow through.  This is the beginning of it all.  He wants me.  If I give into this type of all in relationship, then the amazing things follow.  The pushing and prodding, the growth, the falling of the scales from my eyes to see the wonders He works all around me all the time.

-S

But giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors me.

   If you keep to my path,

   I will reveal to you the salvation of God.

Psalm 50: 23

Leave a Reply

