All in a Dream

I had a dream last night that I don’t remember a lot of, but I get the feeling I remember the part that matters.  In this dream, a small boy was telling me what the most important roles of God were to him: Protector and Savior.

Then, the first couple verses I read when I woke up for my devotions were Psalms 18:1-2

I love you, Lord;

   you are my strength.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;

   my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.

He is my shield, the power that saves me,

   and my place of safety.

I love when God works this way.  It’s hard to ignore the correlation.  So, this led me to really take the time to think about what God may be trying to tell me.  Why these two words: Protector and Savior?  I’m feeling pretty stable and safe.  So, it seemed like other words may be more important for me right now.

I began to break down what God’s role as these meant in my life right now, in my current stage, in my current roles.  He is my Protector – today and always.  This doesn’t mean for when I feel unsafe.  This means all the time.  I don’t have to worry because my protection comes through Him.  I don’t need to worry about what may happen, what I can or cannot control.  I don’t need to worry about finances or how to best help people.  He is my rock and my place of safety from all the world throws at me, big and small.  He needs to be my place of safety from all I throw at myself.

He is my Savior.  I tend to sometimes think of this in the past tense.  He saved me.  HOwever, that is inaccurate.  He saves me.  All the time.  I can enter into any situation, any role, anything with the security that the battle has already been won.

tumblr_ltawn1r7Xt1qi95c1o1_500This is great knowledge, but what does it mean for me in my action, in my thinking, in my feeling?  I need to stop and check myself at the door.  I need to start trusting my Protector and Savior.  He has a plan.  I need to trust that and stop worrying about the details or my own insufficiency in His plan.  He’s taken care of it.

He is my shield, the power that saves me,

   and my place of safety.

(everywhere, anywhere, by myself, in a crowd, in the known and the unknown)

-S

Leave a Reply

