An Emotional Thermostat

emtoional thermostatAs a mother and wife, I set the emotional climate of our house…

What a privilege (and big responsibility) that I really do not deserve given my proneness to emotional outburst.

Example #1: just yesterday I had a hissy fit in the car and we turned around and came home before ever reaching our destination….we were half way there….my 1 year old was sitting nicely in the back seat…

Ya, that happened (Chris can confirm this story).

Maybe God should really reconsider putting the female in charge of so much…especially when she’s so hormonal and, well, me.

Then again He (God) probably knows a man certainly couldn’t multi task well enough to get it all done…so occasional emotional outbursts were worth it.

Back to my point.

One of the biggest responsibilities he gave (and the first one I usually forget about) is that I set the emotional climate of my house.

(the saying “ if momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happ” is true)

I like to remind my husband of this saying. But when I am honest with myself (and him), I can acknowledge that happiness is an inside job.

I’m not talking about realizing I have a blessed and wonderful family/life. I’m talking about finding daily peace and happiness within and sometimes despite those blessings.

And that my friends is no ones job (or ability), but my own.

When I rely on others for happiness (when it actually works), it is fleeting:

Example #2: my wonderful husband surprised me with flowers when he ran to the grocery store (also for me).

I love flowers! They always make me happy!

Then 2 weeks later they dried up and I had to clean up with remnants and smelly flower water.

Happiness in objects is fleeting.

Happiness in being content in where and who you are, that is a peace that lasts while cleaning up smelly water.

Don’t get me wrong that’s not easy. It’s easier to keep buying new flowers (and Chris if you read this post ALWAYS buy the flowers).

All things worth having take time and energy, that goes for peace and happiness too.

I love this quote from Eat, Pray Love

““Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”

Amen!

For me, that means getting up early, even when I’m beyond tired because I slept with a 30 pound child on my face. It means making quiet time with my God and my thoughts a priority before the crazy day begins.

And yes, the nice lip balm and surprise flowers, and cake with coffee (because why not) all help with the external smiles.

But the soul smiles and true deep happiness only permeates my being when my thoughts and desires, my days and my nights begin with God.

-J

Leave a Reply

