Celebrations of Guilt

I have a problem with guilt.  You can ask any of my family members.  I always feel guilty for things people shouldn’t feel guilty.

I am generally content with my life…but then the guilt starts to creep in.  What right do I have to live a life of contentment when they are so many who suffer?  What right do I have to be so blessed by no work of my own, but by the gifts of God.

There is a fine line here.  God blesses us.  We are not promised happiness, but when He gives us these gifts, we should be thankful.  I have the right to celebrate and be content in my amazing Father who grants me blessings.

Sing, O daughter of Zion!

Shout, O Israel!

Be glad and rejoice with all your heart,

O daughter of Jerusalem!

-Zepheniah 3:14

However, I also have the obligation to help those in need.  So, while I don’t need to feel guilty for my blessings or happiness; I do need to use my many blessings and gifts to help others in any and all ways that I can.

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms         – 1 Peter 4:10

It’s a fine line I’m still trying to master.

-S

Leave a Reply

