Consistently Uncomfortable

“love take these words that I’m speaking

love take these thoughts that I’m thinking

love take me over

love fill up all of my spaces and

love stand right here in my space”

Steven Curtis Chapman’s Love Take Me Over

God has this habit of calling me to do things I’m severely uncomfortable doing…

I can’t count how many times I’ll be (or have been) sitting alone in a crowded room wishing I could disappear, putting a brave smile on, while praying “God why am I here, again?”

“What haven’t I learned?”

“Did I misread a sign? do You even want me here?”

What is this awkwardness I’m in and why must I be here with the hormones?

Maybe it’s not about me though (shocked face, I know).

Maybe I’m in this crowded room for someone else. Maybe my un-comfortableness isn’t about me learning a lesson or gaining some insight or growing closer to my Lord.

Maybe it’s simply about extending some love to someone I may not even know…

Maybe I will never even know I touched them.

I answered in faith when I got myself good and uncomfortable. So, in faith I must stay consistent and trust God will handle the rest despite my hate of the situation…

And despite the consistent awkwardness on my part.

Care for the flock that God has entrusted to you. Watch over it willingly, not grudgingly—not for what you will get out of it, but because you are eager to serve God. – 1 Peter 5:2

-J

Leave a Reply

