A Successful 2015 in 4 Steps

I try not to do new year resolutions in the typical sense.  They seem to always be hollow semi-goals that I never really even expect to achieve.  So, last year I started something new that I intend to repeat this year.  I take some time at the end of December to reflect on my goals.  Sometimes these are the same goals as the year before and sometimes, I find that God has shifted my goals over the course of the last 12 months.  So, I ask myself: Who do I want to be?  What do I want to be known for?  So, how are these different than resolutions?  I think they are based differently.  There is also not an end goal.  Rather, these are each a continual work at betterment.

These generally start pretty generic and then I have to get specific in order to achieve these.  For example, towards the top of my list is always to be compassionate.  This is great, but then I have to figure out what that means.  What actions, thoughts, perceptions do I need to change to show more compassion?

So, this year, this is where my list is now.

  1. Be a woman who pursues God.
    • This means I am actively seeking Him through prayer, devotions, etc.
    • This means I spend enough time quiet to hear Him.
  2. Get healthier.
    • The typical one on most people’s list.  For me, this means to stop making excuses.  I have a few health conditions that make this really, really difficult.  However, I cannot use this as an excuse not to try to make healthier decisions.
  3. Show God’s love to others more/Risk more for God.
    • I do this in some ways really well, but there are also times when I don’t do this well.
    • Usually when I don’t do it, it’s because I feel awkward or like people won’t understand me.  I need to let this go.  I need to be willing to let people see me as they will.  Risk more of my emotional security for Him.
  4. Spread joy.
    • I naturally see the good in things.  However, I can also get caught up in negative talk – especially at work.  I want to try to steer conversations towards joy/positivity and not keep the negative going.

-S

Leave a Reply

