She Does Him Good

She does him good, and not evil all the days of her life. Proverbs 31:12

She does him good all the days of her life.  Not the days when he’s helpful, not the days he her flowers, or makes the bed, or doesn’t say anything stupid.  She does him good EVERY day.

It doesn’t say she puts up with him, she tolerates him, she half-smiles, but is resentful of all the work she does.  As a godly woman, she does him good.

Yes, I am thinking of my husband as I type this post. Some days I do not do him good. (Some days I don’t even try.) Some days I’m resentful he’s gone, I’m exhausted and hormonal and make his moments difficult because of what my day looked like:

Double ear infections

No sleep

Poop bath

Syrup all over the dog

Apples that taste like hotdogs

And countless timeouts because hitting mom is apparently ‘funny’

Yup, that was just yesterday.

Back to my point, God doesn’t say she does him good on good days.  She does him (my husband) good ALL the days of her life.  I need to work on this. I love my husband beyond infinity, but my actions do not always show it.  Truth be told, I’m often too focused on his actions to pay any mind to my own!

So this week I’m taping this verse to my bathroom mirror, so at the very least I can speak goodness into the man I love every morning and night when I see the reminder.

Proverbs 14:22 says:  If you plan to do good, you will receive unfailing love and faithfulness.

Notice, it does say goodness will flow naturally from you regardless of how your husband behaves or what he says.  It says “if you PLAN to do good”  By definition that means: to decide on or arrange in advance. It’s an action word. Meaning it will require action (crazy how that works).

Good intentions aren’t enough. Every morning I like the idea of pouring goodness into my husband. But when Nici crying starts, and the poops in the bath (literally) and the dog is sticky and I have a headache from sleep exhaustion and he is away at work…I sure as heck better have a plan put in place for goodness…or it will not come spewing out of me!

-J

Leave a Reply

