Speedy Feet

“Slow down. Take a deep breath. What’s the hurry? Why wear yourself out? Just what are you after anyway? But you say, ‘I can’t help it. I’m addicted to alien gods. I can’t quit.” – Jeremiah 2:25

Life these days requires speedy feet! Which is perfectly fine by me, I’m a speedy person. I’m highly efficient and a fast walker. My husband, on the other hand, is not.

I would swear some days he wakes up with his feet on backwards, making him slower than our 1 year old- who has happy feet, but still takes life at a run.

I can attest first hand that few things are more aggravating than being married to a slow footed person when speedy feet are necessary.

I can also admit that speedy feet are very rarely ~necessary~

Usually, I’m just in a rush.

While I am great at slowing down and taking time to explore the world for my happy footed son…extending that same grace towards my husband doesn’t come so easily.

Lately God has been whispering, “there is no rush” to me, on repeat. I could give a list of why there is. It would go something like this:

Ikea is a mad house and I need to get that desk chair, my head is pounding because, in my rush to get there early, I skipped breakfast and just had an extra coffee, and now I have to pee, and my husband is walking backwards spinning a cart, and we have to pick up Nici from my parents in 30 minutes (which was a self imposed time table) and we are still in the show room.

And still God whispers, “there is no rush.”

I hear Him. I try to internalize it, try to control my breathing and un-knot the tension I feel growing with every twirl of the cart. I can hardly blame the extra caffeine for my lack of composure; it’s myself and I know it. Oh, how it’s easier to blame slow feet.

I want to say I was successful that particular morning, but I wasn’t. I am getting better at apologizing and calming down faster (that counts for something, right?!)

I am big enough to admit speedy feet are rarely necessary…

But I am hoping my husband will wear his to the airport to come home soon!

– J

Leave a Reply

