Give Thanks, Not Complaints

Bless the Lord, Oh my soul, and forget not all His benefits

Psalm 103:2

Most who have known me for a long time would say that I am a complainer. Which in all fairness was 100% true the first 24 years of my life.

However, now when people say that it feels like a small stab and I want to explain to them (in detail) the ways God is at work in me and how it has changed my life (and attitude) completely.

And gosh darn it, I’m no longer a complainer.

(ok, sometimes, too often, I am still an outward complainer. It is a 24-year-old habit and I’m still working on breaking it)

But inwardly I give thanks, not complaints!

My day starts with a gratitude journal and, ok some mornings the first thing I write down is coffee. But, hey, I truly am grateful for it, and God knows that! I try to add 5 items to the list every day (often more and always forgetting things).

When gratitude became my way of starting everyday it slowly changed my life.

I wasn’t born with a lucky, go-getter, cheerful personality. I am all those things, but I am also blunt, sarcastic, opinionated and aggressive.

It has taken me a long time to accept those personality traits as a good thing, and I’m slowly adding in patience and gratefulness. I’ll admit, the attitude of gratitude has come easier than the patience.

I firmly believe every single day every single person has at least 5 things to be thankful for, and its ok if coffee and bedtime frequently make the list!

I’m on number 3,031 for this year- some serious, some frivolous. God appreciates every single thank you and I am trying harder to appreciate every blessing no matter how big or small.

Ps. Read, One Thousand Gifts, by Ann Voskamp if you think your life could use a gratitude make over!

– J

Leave a Reply

