We Who Are Strong

We who are strong must be considerate of those who are sensitive about things like this.

We must not just please ourselves.

We should help each other do what is right and build them up in the Lord.

Romans 15:1-2

e017622c75ef91a5b3f1cf7984adddd4

My family is made up of unusually strong women. We have extremely strong convictions and are not afraid to state them or fight for them.

Being a strong female is hard. It means we have incredibly high expectations (and are equally hard on ourselves). We expect the best out of people and will call one another out if we feel there’s been a mistake or an issue should be addressed.

That’s probably why this verse jumped out at me this morning.

We are dealing with a difficult situation this week- full of black and whites, but sprayed with just enough thinner to make some ugly grey areas. And the strong woman in me wants to jump up and down and scream “STAND UP! BE STRONG! LIFE ISNT EASY! DEAL WITH IT”

Thank goodness God is working in me to provide a filter on my mouth. Because, while strength is good and honorable; it can also be harsh and uncompassionate- even if its coming from the heart.

“We who are strong must be considerate of those who are sensitive”

My husband calls me Taz from time to time. As in The Tazmanian Devil, you know the one who whirls about all crazy taking casualties every so often. I can admit I do whirl about sometimes, being strong and getting stuff done, and yes, taking casualties every so often.

Its taken me a long time to slow down and question my approach before I act (not after the fact)

Being strong, taking action, saying the hard (necessary) words comes easily to me. Confrontation doesn’t make me uncomfortable and I don’t necessarily care if everyone agrees with me. So sometimes I come off as cold or too harsh.

“We should help each other do what is right and build them up in the Lord”

If my approach is off setting then my strength is pointless and doesn’t honor God at all because I am not using this gift to share His love with others.

By no means am I saying to stay quiet or to not take action when difficult situations present themselves. I’m just reminding myself to first take into consideration who I am dealing with. Then use my strength to show love and support in the appropriate way.

True love requires more strength than any other emotion. Jesus is the ultimate example of this and time and time again he tells us to love:

“Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them” Romans 12:9

“These—and other such commandments—are summed up in this one commandment: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no wrong to others, so love fulfills the requirements of God’s law.” Romans 13:9-10

So maybe God didn’t give us strength to be strong and to ‘fix ‘ situations, or have high expectations and be hard on ourselves.

Maybe He gave us strength to love better, love more, love free-er.

– J

Leave a Reply

